Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Welcome to Your Hometown Co-op

Our community has changed over the years. It seems everything today has become a bit generic, focused more on profits than people. Yet it’s nice to know we still have locally owned and controlled businesses we can count on—such as Arrowhead Electric.

By receiving electricity from the co-op, you’re a member—an owner, really—of the business. You have a say in how the co-op’s run and open communication is important to us. That is why we provide an opportunity for member comments at each Board meeting and we encourage questions at the Arrowhead Electric annual meeting. Through your vote, you select who you want to represent you on the Board of Directors.

We’re members, just like you, and elected by you to form your Board of Directors. Our experience is varied; lawyer, business owners, CPA, etc. We are your neighbors and we want what you want—affordable energy bills and the comfort of knowing lights will turn on when you flip a switch.

With those goals in mind we work throughout the year to invest in our electric system and keep power reliable. We focus on educating members how to use energy efficiently. We talk to you in the grocery store and on the street, listening to your concerns and ideas.

The board’s role is to look out for your interests because, quite frankly, we share them. We are elected to represent you at the co-op. And the best part about our co-op is simple: anyone can be a member. We’re founded on a set of seven principles, including voluntary and open membership. And if you want to serve the community at a higher level, you can run for the Board of Directors too.

Arrowhead Electric Cooperative maintains a seven member board of directors. Each director serves a 3 year term with a maximum of 4 terms. Current Directors include:

District 1: Hovland & Grand Portage – Roger Opp, Treasurer & Secretary
District 2: Maple Hill & Colvill –
District 3: Gunflint Trail – 
Michael Valentini
District 4: Rosebush & Devil Track–
Mike Littfin, President

District 5: Pike Lake & Cascade – Stanley Tull, Vice President
District 6: Lutsen –
Scott Harrison

District 7: Schroeder & Tofte – Don McKeever

Regular board meetings are held the last Thursday of each month at 9:00 a.m. with the exception of November and December due to the holidays. Members wishing to be added to the agenda should contact the office one week prior to the meeting.